top of page

SENSITIVITY READING

 

RISING GAZE advises people in the film and television industry regarding contemporary representation of women, BiPoC, people with disabilities and LGBTIQ* in film and on stage. We often unintentionally pass on sexist, queerphobic, racist, antiziganist [3] or ableist biases without being aware of it. Moreover, despite extensive research, we often present experiences that we have not had ourselves in a simplified or clichéd way. However, reality is usually quite different, less predictable and much more interesting. The exchange with our experts therefore not only leads to less discrimination, but also offers the chance of a more true-to-life, more authentic portrayal and thus a more original, more surprising, more modern story.

 

RISING GAZE helps through Sensitivity Reading and Sensitivity Consulting

 

  • to challenge discriminatory narratives 

  • to make scripts and plays more gender-responsive 

  • to tell about experiences that you do not know from your own life (e.g. racism, trauma, disability etc.)

  • to revise stories to reflect the diversity of society

  • to present pregnancy, birth, postpartum and motherhood more realistically

 

Another important topic is the portrayal of violence against FINTA* in films and series. Studies [4] show, that young men who repeatedly consume films with sexual violence, tend to be more accepting of this violence and rape myths. The depiction of violence against women often only serves as a dramaturgical device to advance the male protagonist's plot line. The consequences of traumatic experiences for the victim are rarely discussed, victims of violence only have their say in 8% of the reports.

 

RISING GAZE helps  

 

  • to find alternatives to "Women in Refridgerators"

  • to illuminate the context of society as a whole when depicting violence

  • to portray violence from the victim's perspective and address the consequences (dissociation, flashbacks, PTSD) 

  • to challenge harmful narratives such as false accusations and rape myths

Just try it out!

Juan Ortiz Berlinale_edited_edited.jpg

Racism, migration &

postcolonial power relations

Susanne Kaiser

Sexism

& Misogyny

Leonard Grobien.jpg

Ablesim

& Inclusion

Eva Diamantstein

German-Jewish History

of the 20th century

[3] The term antiziganism is sometimes discussed controversially. However, since it is recommended by the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma, we use it ever. More here: https://zentralrat.sintiundroma.de/romani-rose-zum-begriff-antiziganismus/

[4] Click here for an overview: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/1524838017717745?journalCode=tvaa

Anker 1
Referenzen

REFERENCES

DCM_Logo_RGB.png
12proquote_edited.jpg
ZDF.png.webp
bottom of page

top of page

SENSITIVITY READING 

RISING GAZE berät Personen aus der Kultur- und Medienbranche bezüglich einer zeitgemäßen Darstellung von Frauen, BiPoC, Menschen mit Behinderung und LGBTIQA+ im Film und auf der Bühne. Häufig geben wir unabsichtlich sexistische, queerfeindliche, rassistische, antiziganistische [3] oder ableistische Vorurteile weiter, ohne uns dessen bewusst zu sein. Außerdem stellen wir trotz aufwändiger Recherchen Erfahrungen, die wir nicht aus eigenem Erleben kennen, oft vereinfacht oder klischeehaft dar. Die Realität ist meist viel interessanter und weniger vorhersehbar. Der Austausch mit unseren Expert*innen führt also nicht nur zu weniger Diskriminierung, sondern bietet auch die Chance einer authentischeren Darstellung und damit einer originelleren, überraschenderen, moderneren Geschichte

 

RISING GAZE hilft durch Sensitivity Reading und Sensitivity Beratung u.a. dabei,

  • Diskriminierende Narrative zu erkennen 

  • Drehbücher und Theaterstücke geschlechtergerechter zu gestalten

  • Erfahrungen darzustellen, bei denen Sie nicht aus eigenem Erleben schöpfen können (z.B. Rassismus, Trauma, Behinderung etc.)

  •  Schwangerschaft, Geburt, Wochenbett und Elternschaft realistischer darzustellen

  • Stoffe so zu überarbeiten, dass sie die Vielfalt der Gesellschaft widerspiegeln

  • Gerne erstellen wir auch Diversitätslektorate

Ein weiteres wichtiges Thema ist die Darstellung von Gewalt gegen FLINTA+. Studien [4] belegen, dass junge Männer, die wiederholt Filme mit sexualisierter Gewalt konsumieren, zu einer größeren Akzeptanz dieser Gewalt und Vergewaltigungsmythen neigen. Denn oft dient sie nur als dramaturgisches Mittel, um den Handlungsstrang eines männlichen Protagonisten voranzutreiben. Die Folgen traumatischer Erfahrungen werden selten thematisiert, Betroffene von Gewalt ​kommen nur in 8 Prozent der Darstellungen ausführlich selbst zu Wort [5]. 

 

RISING GAZE hilft dabei,
 

  • Alternativen zu "Women in Refridgerators" zu finden

  • bei der Darstellung von Gewalt den gesamtgesellschaftlichen Kontext zu beleuchten

  • Gewalt aus der Perspektive der Betroffenen darzustellen und die Folgen zu thematisieren (Dissoziation, Flashbacks, PTBS) 

  • schädliche Narrative wie das der Falschbeschuldigung und Vergewaltigungsmythen zu hinterfragen

Probieren Sie es einfach aus:

Juan Ortiz Berlinale_edited_edited.jpg

Rassismus, Migration & postkoloniale Machtverhältnisse

Susanne Kaiser

Misogynie, Fundamentalismus

& autoritärer Backlash

Leonard Grobien.jpg

Ableismus &

Inklusion

Eva Diamantstein

Deutsch-jüdische Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts

[3] Der Begriff Antiziganismus wird teilweise kontrovers diskutiert. Da er jedoch vom Zentralrat Deutscher Sinti und Roma empfohlen wird, verwenden wir ihn je. Mehr dazu hier: https://zentralrat.sintiundroma.de/romani-rose-zum-begriff-antiziganismus/

[4] Hier eine Übersicht: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/1524838017717745?journalCode=tvaa

Anker 1
Referenzen

REFERENZEN

DCM_Logo_RGB.png
12proquote_edited.jpg
ZDF.png.webp
bottom of page